1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dungeons & Dragons Skill Shot Not Working

Discussion in 'Pinball Tech Support' started by Darrin S., Oct 15, 2017.

  1. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Hello,

    The skill shot on my D&D machine does not register. I know I am doing the skill shot correctly as i have the manual for the machine and also tested it with the glass off and rolling the ball by hand.

    There is a gate at the top of the left ramp that the ball is supposed to pass behind and then roll back down the same ramp and it then is supposed to score 100,000 points. However, on my machine nothing happens. The switches that it rolls over on the ramp towards the metal swinging gate do work as they score points.

    The little metal swing gate isn't attached to any kind of switch or wire from what I can see, maybe it is supposed to be connected to something that would let the machine know the ball went through?

    For the few people that have a D&D machine can you please look at the metal gate at the top of the left ramp and see if it is supposed to have someway of registering the ball?

    This is the only thing that doesn't appear to be functioning on this machine.

    Thank You for your help!
     
    #1
  2. luch

    luch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Newmarket
    is there opto's there ?
     
    #2
  3. luch

    luch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Newmarket
  4. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Hello,

    I am not very good at reading schematics. The manual said that when the ball passes through the gate it makes a switch. Not sure how it does that.

    From a quick look at the operating manual I don't see on the actual machine where switch 38 (skill 3 top) is. I see switch 36 and 37 easily as they are readily viable on the ramp.
     
    #4
  5. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Unless it is saying that the gate itself is switch 38.. but that isn't connected to anything so it just swings but wouldn't act as a switch. Maybe there is supposed to be an opto switch.. or something is just missing from the gate..
     
    #5
  6. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    #6
  7. luch

    luch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Newmarket
    i think the right side of the mech is missing and a rod that goes down under the playfield to a switch can you send a picture of that area but under the playfield
     
    #7
  8. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Alright I have pictures from under the playfield of that area:
    20171015_144433.jpg 20171015_144502.jpg 20171015_144536.jpg
     
    #8
  9. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Well i don't know what to look for as to why the skill shot doesn't work. If things are missing from the machine then I guess not much can be done..
     
    #9
  10. atariaction

    atariaction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    London, ON
    I think Luch is right. Looks like a wire (something like what is seen in the pics) is missing. There is likely a switch just under there somewhere where the wire would attach to to close the switch. I will try to find the part number and send one to you. Let me know if you see a switch just under the gate there.

    detail.jpg large.JPG
     
    #10
  11. atariaction

    atariaction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    London, ON
    Is it possible that what I am pointing to in this pic is the switch? And the gate arm just needs to be adjusted to close that switch?

    002.JPG
     
    #11
  12. spiroagnew

    spiroagnew Well-Known Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Scotch Block, ON
    Judging by this picture, there IS a hidden switch attached to the backside backboard: you can see the green capacitor peeking out.

    Pull out the playfield, or reach your camera around back there, and see what you are dealing with. Perhaps a loose wire, failed cap or a simple switch adjustment.[​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
     
    #12
  13. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    Thanks to everyone for there help with this, it was a switch behind the gate that wasn't making contact with the 3 blades. needed to adjust it by bending all 3 in more and it seems to make contact when the gate hits it and registers the skill shot now.
     
    #13
  14. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    of course now the stupid swing gate hook arm will get stuck behind the blades and won't come back down unless you press the switch a little then the gate will return to the down position. so i had to push the switch back far enough so the gate swings properly but of course the skill shot won't work again.. crap design.,
     
    #14
  15. luch

    luch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Newmarket
    your in the right place , just keep adjusting till it is free to move , now that it works but intermittent
     
    #15
  16. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    What I will do is cut the tops of the blades off a bit which should allow for the gate to swing up and then back down. The arm of the gate makes contact with the blades more to the middle than the top of them.
     
    #16
  17. atariaction

    atariaction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    London, ON
    Yep you are close! Maybe bend the hook on the gate arm a bit so it cannot catch. Careful not to break it as it is brittle.
     
    #17
  18. luch

    luch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Newmarket
    don't cut because you cannot cut I longer if it is too short , just bend and see if you can get it to move freely
     
    #18
    atariaction likes this.
  19. Darrin S.

    Darrin S. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Richmond Hill
    it just needs like a millimetre or so cut off, I spent over an hour trying to bend it just right.. but to no avail.
     
    #19
  20. luch

    luch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Newmarket
    then cut it a millimeter , maybe better if you can file it , a millimeter is hard to cut unless you have very good snips , maybe move the switch back a bit .
     
    #20

Share This Page