• We have upgaded to the latest version of XenForum and the process finished without any errors!!!! Enjoy the new forum!

Williams Blackout

Rascal

Sep 20, 2015
nova scotia, canada
I just picked up a dysfunctional Williams Blackout. I'm still a novice when it comes to repairs, so any help to get started with this one would be appreciated.
Main issue to start with is, when you press start it cycles through kick-out of balls till it reaches all 3 and ends the game. The flippers work briefly till game is over while cycling kick-out. I just set her up and this is what I have to start with. All fuses look good, put new batteries in, and re-seated all wire harnesses.

What would be the best place to start.

Rascal

Sep 20, 2015
nova scotia, canada
I bought it with issues. A couple times I got it to not end the game and I see I have a couple pop bumpers that are dead. Pretty neat game for an oldie. The playfield is certainly lighter than the newer pins.

websherpa

Feb 10, 2013
Waterdown, ON
Williams System 6 generally need a complete overhaul, re-built power supply and intermittent issues are often caused by the CPU / Driver Board interconnects (which are notorious for getting solder breaks and worn pins), re-seat chips and sometimes their sockets need to be replaced. Battery leaks and acid damage are common too. Many of the capacitors are of such an age as to need replacing. Edge connectors fail due to vibration / heat solder breaks and need re-soldering and sometimes replacement.

System 6 are great machines to learn solid state pinball restoration from (which is my main interest AND how I got started) but you need to decide if that learning curve, supply purchase and electronics skill and toolset is for you. If not, is there a local hobbiest or repair guy that might take it on?