1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vewlix Clone MAME/Console Project

Discussion in 'MAME / Multi-game Discussion, Projects & Support' started by mwong168, Oct 5, 2017.

  1. mwong168

    mwong168 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,956
    Likes Received:
    781
    Location:
    Toronto
    Hey brad if you make set please double ;)

    Also be great if you can take pics and post measurements mr caesar. Thanks
     
    #61
  2. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    Sorry it took so long guys, I've been flat out with work/family/December :)

    Here's the best measurements I could take. If you need more measurements, let me know.

    Code:
    https://imgur.com/a/NFraU
     
    #62
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
  3. brad808

    brad808 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brantford
    I cannot see the pics. They show up for other s?
     
    #63
  4. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    I don't know why it does this when the link is of an imgur album.

    But if you click on the imgur logo, you should be able to get to it.

    Edit: I made it a code tag, you'll just have to copy and paste the link. Every time I put the link, it turns it into a media imgur tag.
     
    #64
  5. brad808

    brad808 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brantford
    Thanks you I can see now :). I'm going to see if I can get someone at work to make them, if not I will tackle it in the new year.
     
    #65
  6. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    Time and effort mate :)

    By the time you get someone to spend the time knocking it up.. that 50 bux I spent makes it seem cheap :) :)
     
    #66
  7. brad808

    brad808 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brantford
    That's why I'm thinking of passing it off haha. Bunch of millwrights and machinists sitting around doing nothing in the shop at my work. Probably be happy to have a project to pass a few minutes.


    As edit: only outer most holes on large brackets are necessary as well as one smaller center hole correct? Only 3 necessary holes on Med bracket too? Seems that way from your pics. Will make the manufacturing of them easier bypassing unnecessary things.
     
    #67
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
  8. brad808

    brad808 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brantford
  9. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah they are..

    The larger holes on the large bracket is the hole that's used to secure the bracket to the frame of the cabinet.

    The holes in the in the medium bracket is what's used to screw the bracket to the monitor
     
    #69
  10. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    Just re-read, yes, the holes you've circled are required.

    For my brackets they are threaded
     
    #70
    brad808 likes this.
  11. brad808

    brad808 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brantford
    Yes I just mean no sense in drilling and elongating holes that aren't used at all so I will only put on the ones that are used.
     
    #71
  12. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    So it's been a while since I've had any major update and for a reason, I've been patiently waiting for my second cab :)

    Yesterday, this massive box finally arrived! It's nicely packed and I didn't have any issues with additional customs fees for fumigation or anything like that.

    [​IMG]

    These little critters were a massive PITA to line up.

    [​IMG]

    Each one of the 30 or so pieces needed to be straightened out like this

    [​IMG]

    First piece of wood taken off

    [​IMG]

    After all panels were taken off, the cabinet is clearly seen and decently packaged :)

    As you could appreciate, my excitement levels were pretty high by this stage :D

    [​IMG]

    Foam wrapping taken off and she's a beauty!!

    [​IMG]

    Put her right next to the existing one to see if there are any "major" differences, and the only thing I picked up was the speaker casings aren't the same black as the metal panel (unlike my first cab). The speakers themselves had silver cones and not black like my first cab

    [​IMG]

    A quick test of the HDMI splitter shows everything works as expected.

    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately, the wiring of the Jamma harness that was installed appeared to be all over the place. None of the sticks worked nor the buttons. So I ripped them straight out and installed the Brook UFB I made using the wiring loom from the other cab. The CP's were quickly switched to single player ones and everything worked straight away. All PS4 functionality that I installed worked. Directional keys and buttons functioned as expected.

    As you can see in this image, the right cab is waaaaay brighter than the original cab, I'll try and work out how to lower the brightness and make the image less saturated over the coming days/weeks.

    [​IMG]

    One accessory I requested from the supplier was a marquee. To my surprise, there was a blue LED fitted and wired on the second cab and when I placed the marquee on it, it was quite a nice thing to see - ie. the marquee being accentuated by the LED

    [​IMG]

    After seeing the marquee in action on the cabinet, I decided not to bother trying to find the connector of the first cabinet's LED and just hard wire it to the 12v source, so I tapped in to the 12v fan source, gave it some solder and heat shrink and looky looky - you wouldn't even think I did it :)

    [​IMG]

    Voila!! Just in time for SFV:AE!!

    [​IMG]

    Things to do:

    - split the audio and directly wire the 3.5mm to the 2nd cab's amp as there is no sound going to it at the moment.
    - calibrate the monitors
    - clean the glass panels on the monitor
    - fix up the wiring so it's all coming from the primary cab into the secondary cab
    - get a second set of vinyl's for the sides
    - organise artwork from sellsellsells200 (want an Ultra SFIV and a SFV:AE one made up)
    - configure the PC for hyperspin
    - download the AE update on my silly 2Mbps connection, so that'll take a good 16 hours :(

    After all that, I think my journey is coming to an end! :)

    I started with an impulse purchase and have ended with my dream of having a head to head setup becoming a reality :)

    If you have any questions, please feel free to ask. I would have loved to have read a thread like this when I first started and I'm hoping this helps others out there.

    I'm sure one of the first questions will be how much or where did I purchase from?

    I'll quickly answer those now :)

    How much?

    It cost 550 USD to purchase the unit BEFORE shipping :D :D, but since I got heaps of additional accessories (spare rectangular pieces from the control panel, spare side bezels from the CP, marquees, coin mech, brackets to rotate the monitor), it ended up costing closer to 650 USD

    Shipping costs will vary depending on where it's going. It cost me an additional 700 USD to get it to my door (I went with a company that provided door to door service, so I didn't have to worry about any of the things that one normally worries about when importing via sea ie. Shipping to port, document fees, taxes/duties, brokerage fees, freight forward fees, delivery to your house from port - normally will be a lift tail gate truck etc).

    Who did you purchase from?

    I went with WanMo

    https://www.alibaba.com/product-det...60681884644.html?spm=a2700.8443308.0.0.OXfmOm

    I pretty much contacted everyone I could on Alibaba and found A LOT of the suppliers are pretty much the same. Some varied in price quite substantially from my research eg some quoted me 900 USD for one complete unit. Some just don't want to send 1 unit as it's not worth their time.

    For me personally, the experience I had with WanMo and their sales rep Crystal was fantastic and I'd recommend them

    How long did the process take?

    About 7.5 weeks for me. Payment was made December 1 and I received my cabinet on the 15th of January.
     
    #72
  13. mwong168

    mwong168 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,956
    Likes Received:
    781
    Location:
    Toronto
    Congrats on getting your second cab and thanks for sharing your experience and contributing to this thread. Someone locally just ordered his vewlix cab too and looks like they used the same wooden crate too.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #73
  14. brad808

    brad808 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Brantford
    Looks very nice!
     
    #74
  15. mwong168

    mwong168 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,956
    Likes Received:
    781
    Location:
    Toronto
    #75
  16. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hey guys,

    It's been a while! I haven't really touched the Chewlix in a while since I've gotten the Sega Astro City bug! (got working one for 600 and another for 150 wasn't working, a couple of hundred dollars later, I got it fixed and now I have two to play on 29 inch 15khz monitors!! And a dedicated "Tate" and "Yoko" cab)

    [​IMG]

    Now that the both astro cities are working, I decided to go back to the Chewlix and make the admin buttons that I've prolonged for some time

    I purchased 16mm anodised buttons as I wanted to fit 5 on the panel to act as the OPTIONS, L1, HOME, L2 TP Key buttons. I didn't need 24mm Sanwas since I wanted to try and "clean" look

    Measured it up...

    [​IMG]

    16mm spade drill bit..

    [​IMG]

    As good as I can get without it being cut by a cnc

    [​IMG]

    After redoing the control panel of the astro city, I became a fan of the TE AMP UP connectors, so I decided to use it for the admin buttons.



    [​IMG]

    Added the extra wires to my original harness.

    Didn't realise the TP_KEY section didn't have a spot in the terminal block, so that wire had to be soldered on

    [​IMG]

    Both PCBS updated

    [​IMG]

    How it looks on the control panel.

    [​IMG]
     
    #76
  17. eh97ac

    eh97ac Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Mississauga
    SLICK
     
    #77
  18. mwong168

    mwong168 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,956
    Likes Received:
    781
    Location:
    Toronto
    Congrats on the astrocity cabs and nice setup
     
    #78
  19. mwong168

    mwong168 Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,956
    Likes Received:
    781
    Location:
    Toronto
    #79

Share This Page